Human Relations Advisory Committee

Human Relations Advisory Committee Meetings

-Meets the second Tuesday of each month | 6 p.m. | Woodridge Public Library (3 Plaza Drive)
Human Relations Advisory Committee MeetingsView the agendas
Human Relations Advisory CommitteeIn October 2020, Mayor Cunningham and the Village Board unanimously approved Resolution #2020-81 “Celebrating the Diversity of our Community and Affirming the Village’s Commitment to Diversity, Equality, Equity, and Inclusion for All.” As part of that Resolution, they approved the creation of an ad hoc Village Human Relations Advisory Committee (“the Committee”) whose purpose would be to help: (i) deepen the Village’s understanding of diversity, equality, equity, and inclusion, and (ii) facilitate meaningful community connections, conversations, and dialogue around diversity on behalf of the Village and all of our Woodridge neighbors.

In 2021, the Village publicly solicited interested volunteers from within the Woodridge community who would be interested in serving on the Committee. The Village received a strong response to that advertisement. After reviewing the qualifications and letters of interest from each candidate and after scheduling informal telephone and Zoom introductory meetings with each of the candidates, Mayor Cunningham recommend 17 individuals for appointment to the committee. The Village Board approved Resolution #2002-7 to appoint the following people to the Committee:

1. Debbie Collins
2. Christina Figueroa
3. Nand Garg
4. Jean Gasick
5. Dr. Dipak Ghosh, PhD
6. Suzanne Hammer
7. Mary Hobein
8. Erin Ludwick
9. Norma Lyons
10. Linda Miller
11. Lani Nishimura
12. Shatender Singh
13. Marinda Stopforth
14. Lawrence Whitman
15. Ryan Wiggins
16. Mary Williamson